We acknowledge and pay respect to the Traditional Owners of the land upon which this Summit is held.
AsiaN-Australian Leadership Summit

The Summit

Access the Summit Discussion Paper

See the full list of attendees

Access the Outcomes and Next Steps Presentation

The Asian-Australian Leadership Summit focused on both the structural barriers and the opportunities facing Asian-Australians seeking senior leadership positions.

Delegates heard from senior industry leaders about their experiences, and developed practical targets as part of an ongoing agenda for change.


Australia has a significant and growing Asian-Australian community, at around 12 per cent of the total population. However, Asian-Australians are being left behind in leadership. _

The Australian Human Rights Commission (AHRC) Cultural Diversity Leadership Blueprint examined the cultural backgrounds of Chief Executive Officers of ASX200 companies, federal government ministers, heads of federal and state government departments and vice-chancellors of universities. The Commission found that just 1.6 per cent of them were Asian-Australians.

Our speakers provided insights into the challenges, opportunities and the benefits of a strong commitment to cultural diversity.

Keynote addresses were delivered by Professor the Hon Gareth Evans AC QC, Chancellor, The Australian National University.

Industry leaders provided further insights during a number of panel discussions exploring personal experiences, and reflections on impediments to progress, as well as celebrations of success. The Summit included sector-focused discussions focusing on greater representation of Asian-Australians in the following sectors:

  • Arts &Culture
  • Community/Not for Profit
  • Corporate/Business
  • Education
  • Government
  • Legal
  • Media
  • Science & Medicine

Members of Asian-Australian Leadership Summit Advisory Council

  • Professor the Hon Gareth Evans AC QC, Chancellor, The Australian National University & Chair, AALS Advisory Council
  • Ms Penny Burtt, Group CEO, Asialink
  • Ms Swati Dave, Managing Director & CEO, Efic
  • Mr Jason Johnson, Managing Partner, Johnson
  • Ms Ming Long, Chair, AMP Capital Funds Management
  • Mr Dhruv Deepak (DD) Saxena, Founder and Promoter Director, Riverina Oils & Bio Energy
  • Professor Tim Soutphommasane, Professor of Practice (Sociology and Political Theory), The University of Sydney
  • Mr Chin Tan, Race Discrimination Commissioner, Australian Human Rights Commission
  • Mr Reynah Tang AM, Partner, Johnson Winter & Slattery
  • Ms Jennifer Whelan, Founder and Managing Director, Psynapse
  • Mr Ken Woo, Partner, PwC Australia
  • Mr Jason Yat-sen Li, Chairman, Vantage Asia Holdings

Participation is by invitation only.



follow #asianausleadership

Keep up with the conversation
on Twitter, LinkedIn or Facebook.


tune in to our video series

Watch our interviews with some of
the most prominent Asian-Australians.

For Questions or Enquiries